CS Issue No 28 Editors

Kathryn Kelly is a dramaturg and theatre historian and a Senior Lecturer at the Queensland University of Technology (QUT) in Brisbane, Australia. Her research interests include dramaturgy and socially engaged, feminist and transcultural performance. She is company dramaturg with Belloo Creative an award winning, all-female company, based in Meanjin/Brisbane www.belloocreative.com and has worked as a dramaturg for almost thirty years.

Julian Meyrick is Professor of Creative Arts at Griffith University, General Editor of Currency House’s New Platform Paper series, and Literary Adviser for the Queensland Theatre.  He was Literary Adviser for the State Theatre Company of South Australia 2013-2019, and Associate Director and Literary Advisor at Melbourne Theatre Company 2002-07. He has directed and dramaturged over 40 award-winning theatre productions and published numerous books and articles on Australian arts and culture.

Fiona Graham is Programme Director for the MA Dramaturgy and Writing for Performance at Goldsmiths College, London University. She has been a theatre maker for more than forty years working as an actor, director, writer, producer, and dramaturg. Her practice is documented in Performing Dramaturgy (Playmarket, 2017) and a collection of plays Triptych: Three Plays for Young People Inspired by the Art of Paula Rego (Aurora, 2019). Website.

Moana Nepia (Ngāti Porou, Te Aitanga-a-Hauiti) is a choreographer, visual artist, curator, designer and performer with backgrounds in Māori dance, contemporary dance and classical ballet. He is currently a Senior Research Fellow at Media Design School, was Assistant Professor at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa in Pacific Islands Studies, Senior Lecturer at Auckland University of Technology (AUT). He is a dance graduate of VCA Melbourne and completed a PhD: Te Kore – The Māori concept of Void from AUT. He was Arts Editor for The Contemporary Pacific and is on the Editorial Board of Interstices Journal of Architecture and Related Arts.

Emily Coleman is a Bundjalung-Githabul multidisciplinary creative artist from a long line of storytellers. Based in Meanjin, she is a QUT BFA (Drama) graduate and the former Artistic Director/Creative Producer of Digi Youth Arts (2019-2022). Emily has worked across a variety of roles including performer, community engagement coordinator, theatre-maker, producer and designer. Notably, she worked throughout remote communities and Youth Detention Centres along the East Coast, and was awarded the Jessie Reid Dyce Memorial Prize for her contributions to community arts in Hunter Valley. Her practice has always and will always be guided by her community and passion for truth-telling.

Interviews, Inter/National Reflections

Savas Patsalidis is Professor Emeritus in Theatre Studies at Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, where he has taught at the School of English for close to 35 years. He has also taught at the Drama School of the National Theatre of Northern Greece, the Hellenic Open University and the graduate program of the Theatre Department of Aristotle University. He is the author of fourteen books on theatre and performance criticism/theory and co-editor of another thirteen. His two-volume study, Theatre, Society, Nation (2010), was awarded first prize for best theatre study of the year. In 2019 his book Theatre & Theory II: About Topoi, Utopias and Heterotopias was published by University Studio Press. In 2022 his book-length study Comedy’s Encomium: The Seriousness of Laughter, was also published by University Studio Press. In addition to his academic activities, he writes theatre reviews for various journals. He is on the Executive Committee of the Hellenic Association of Theatre and Performing Arts Critics, a member of the curators’ team of Forest International Festival (organized by the National Theatre of Northern Greece), and the editor-in-chief of Critical Stages/Scènes critiques, the journal of the International Association of Theatre Critics.


Yana Meerzon is Professor at the University of Ottawa and President of Canadian Association for Theatre Research. Trained as a professional theatre critic in Moscow, Russia (GITIS), she also holds a PHD from University of Toronto, Canada. Yana is the author of three books, with the latest volume Performance, Subjectivity, Cosmopolitanism published by Palgrave in August 2020. She co-edited seven collections of articles, including Migration and Stereotypes in Performance and Culture with David Dean and Daniel McNeil (Palgrave 2020). Her current research project is entitled “Between Migration and Neo-Nationalism(s): Performing the European Nation — Playing a Foreigner”; and it has been funded by The Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC). Yana is the editor of the “Essays Section” of Critical Stages/Scènes critiques.

Performance Reviews

Matti Linnavuori wrote theatre criticism between 1978 and 2013 for various newspapers and weeklies in his native Finland. In 1985, he worked for the BBC World Service in London. Since 1998, he has presented papers at numerous IATC events. In the 2000s, he wrote for Teatra Vestnesis in Latvia. Since 1992, he has written and directed several radio plays for YLE the Finnish Broadcasting Company. In March 2016, his play Ta mig till er ledare (Take me to your leader) premiered at Lilla Teatern in Helsinki.

Book Reviews

Don Rubin is Managing Editor of Critical Stages/Scènes critiques. He is the General Editor of Routledge’s six-volume World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre and founding Editor of Canada’s national theatre quarterly Canadian Theatre Review. He is Professor Emeritus of Theatre at York University in Toronto and Founding Director and Former Chair of both York’s Department of Theatre and its MA/PhD Program in Theatre and Performance Studies. His volume Canadian Theatre History: Selected Readings is a standard volume on the subject. He is a trustee of the Shakespeare Oxford Fellowship and President of the Shakespeare Authorship Coalition (doubtaboutwill.org).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email